28th August 2016

1466 #DrawingAugust

Urbansketching with Leciester Sketch Club

Pencil, pen and watercolour

Today I joined Leciester Sketch Club for an urban sketching day around the city. We began in Jubilee Square along side lots of cyclists taking part in the Skyride. This building is Wygston House, with some modern buildings behind. 

Later I went to the cathedral and looked back down St Martins East, a narrow alleyway. It was such a challenge to make sense of the space as it was so tall and narrow.

In the afternoon I came across this lovely looking shop with a convenient step,opposite for me to sit on as I drew. I would like to have had longer to spend on this scene, and maybe I’ll go back and have another go in the future. 


I’ve been to Leicester many times to work but I’ve never really walked around the city looking at the buildings. When I go somewhere to urban sketch it makes look differently at the everyday – I discovered lots of interesting places to draw and Leicester Sketch Club provided a useful map and some stopping points along the way. It was a day when the city was changed around to accommodate the Skyride which gave such an atmosphere of fun and celebration. 

About jeandrawingaday

I am a printmaker and artist, a teacher and author, a senior lecturer in the School of Education at The University of Northampton.
This entry was posted in #DrawingAugust, #thedailysketch, art, artist, colour, drawings, every day, line, observation, pen, pencil, Uncategorized, Urban sketching, Urbansketching, Watercolour and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 28th August 2016

  1. Sara Hjelm says:

    You’ve had a busy Sunday… They’re beautiful . Thanks

    Skickat från min iPad

    > 28 aug. 2016 kl. 19:52 skrev Jean a drawing a day : > > >

  2. kestrelart says:

    Lovely detailed drawings

Leave a Reply

