16th November 2015

1200

Just some drawing around and cutting out…

Music manuscript and pencil

  

About jeandrawingaday

I am a printmaker and artist, a teacher and author, a senior lecturer in the School of Education at The University of Northampton.
This entry was posted in #thedailysketch, art, artist, drawings, every day, line, pattern, pencil and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 16th November 2015

  1. writingbolt says:

    Not the worst idea for some musical ornaments. But, I hate cutting up music sheets…or any books. I guess if these were just photo copies, it might not be so bad.

    • They’re books that a friend of mine who has a second hand book stall saves for me. I was telling her how I wanted to use books and interesting papers in my art but couldn’t bring myself to cut them up and ever since she’s saved me old, damaged books and papers for me to use!

      • writingbolt says:

        I have seen other artists use old books as canvas for paintings. I don’t like this because the books may be rare copies. I could maybe see if the book was in ruins…but, even then, old texts are patched back together to preserve older versions of “new” books that (re)surface. Old books are like the scrolls of the ancients/biblical times. I wouldn’t want to say the rags should be turned into wallpaper. I feel the same about making art from CDs just because people can have digital files, now. A CD is like an old record. It’s a stage of history and a piece of craftsmanship. I could go on.

        I would still recommend photocopying the pages or finding another transfer method that doesn’t risk further damage to the old texts. That way you also get more than one use out of a copy/book.

  2. memadtwo says:

    Cutting up Beethoven sonatas…hope you have some other copies to play!

Leave a Reply

