24th August 2015

1116 #DrawingAugust

Drawing out for new collagraphs 

Pencil

9 x 20cm

  
  
I’ve proofed these collagraphs to see how they look and that’s led me to redraw them to allow me to put right some things I’m not happy with. That’s the beauty of using card and glue to make plates – so easy to make changes and improvements. 

About jeandrawingaday

I am a printmaker and artist, a teacher and author, a senior lecturer in the School of Education at The University of Northampton.
This entry was posted in #DrawingAugust, #thedailysketch, art, artist, collage, collagraph, colour, drawings, elephant, every day, imagination, line, observation, pattern, pencil, print, tone and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 24th August 2015

  1. memadtwo says:

    Card and glue? Please explain–thanks. N.

    • This plate is a piece of mount board (unlike an etching where the plate would be zinc). The top surface prints as a mid tone, if I peel off the top surface it prints dark and where I want a light or white I paint on PVA which resist the ink. I can take about 15 or 20 prints off the card plate before it deteriorates. Because it’s only card if I want to remake it that’s easy, unlike with an expensive material like zinc.

  2. memadtwo says:

    Thank you, sounds like an interesting technique.

Leave a Reply

