1000 days of drawing!

This is what 1000 days of drawing looks like:

  Today I made my 1000th consecutive drawing. I began on the 4th August 2012 with the intention of drawing every day for a year but by the time I had completed a year the habit was established and I decided to continue beyond to the next landmark – 1000. 

Tomorrow I will be having clear lens replacement surgery on my right eye, with the left to follow a week tomorrow, all being well, so this set of 1000 drawings are the last I’ll be making with the eyes I was born with. I’m going to try to keep drawing during the changes that happen to my eyes over the next few weeks – not sure how that will go! I will definitely continue my daily drawing as it’s been transformative to my approach to my own art. 

One of the best and most unexpected things is the sharing with and support from people on this blog – some people follow it the blog through WordPress or by email, others ‘like’ my page on Facebook and others see the drawings on Twitter. It’s been great making contact with others who draw or make daily or every so often and I’ve appreciated all the comments and likes! 

About jeandrawingaday

I am a printmaker and artist, a teacher and author, a senior lecturer in the School of Education at The University of Northampton.
This entry was posted in #thedailysketch, art, artist, drawings, every day and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 1000 days of drawing!

  1. Jean, Congratulations! I’ve been enjoying your drawings, but unfortunately haven’t seen all 1000 of them. I wish you well on your lens replacement surgery, and look forward to many more or your drawings.
    Best,
    Felice (Phil) Panagrosso

  2. Good luck with that surgery. And thanks for your art!

  3. Belinda says:

    Congratulations on your 1000th drawing Jean! Thank you so much for sharing your lovely art with us. Good luck for your eye operation. Best wishes, Belinda

  4. Good luck and congratulations!!! That’s really some accomplishment!

  5. All the best with you eye surgery and a rapid recovery. Best of health and loads of inspiration and motivation to keep drawing and creating. 🙂

  6. Kaye says:

    Many congratulations on the thousand! And good luck with the surgery – long may your drawings continue

  7. pelchaktsel says:

    Many, hearty congratulations on reaching 1000 drawings, Jean! This is such an achievement and a real inspiration. Thankyou. And that is an impressive collection of sketchbooks, too! May your eye surgery go well. I am particularly interested to see the drawings you make following the surgery.
    May your cats provide soothing and healing company – I have really enjoyed the drawings you have made of them both.

  8. mlcastejon says:

    Congrats on reaching the 1000 drawings and best of luck on your surgery.

    Maybe I should start drawing as well like you did!
    M.

  9. Good luck today, I will be thinking of you. Sue

Leave a Reply

